ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List From 1975 to 2023

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List From 1975 to 2023: This page will give you information on the Cricket World Cup Winners List. The Cricket World Cup, officially known as ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, was first organized in 1975 in England. Since then, the tournament has been hosted in different countries based on an unofficial rotation system. This tournament is generally held every four years.

As of today, twelve editions of the tournament have been played. We have presented below the list of Cricket World Cup winners since 1975 and other details.

The inaugural edition of the Cricket World Cup in 1975 had eight teams participating. The tournament’s last edition, held in 2019, had ten teams competing for the prestigious trophy. As a result, six nations have made it to the ICC Cricket World Cup winners list.

Cricket World Cup Winners From 1975 to 2019 [ODI]

The ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List is from the inaugural edition held in 1975 to the latest one held in 2019, including other details, such as host, scores, runners-up, winning margin, and final venue.

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List (ODI Format)
Year Winner Hosting Country Runner-up
1975 West Indies England Australia
1979 West Indies England England
1983 India England West Indies
1987 Australia India and Pakistan England
1992 Pakistan Australia and New Zealand England
1996 Sri Lanka Pakistan and India Australia
1999 Australia England Pakistan
2003 Australia South Africa India
2007 Australia West Indies Sri Lanka
2011 India India and Bangladesh Sri Lanka
2015 Australia Australia and New Zealand New Zealand
2019 England England and Wales New Zealand
2023 TBA India TBA

Men’s Test Cricket World Cup Winners List – From 2019 to 2023

The first edition of the ICC Men’s Test World Cup started in 2019. The latest Test Cricket World Cup was conducted in 2023. The table below illustrates Test Cricket World Cup Winners List from 2019 to 2023

ICC Test World Cup Winners
Year(s) Host Winner Runner
2019/21 England New Zealand India
2021/23 England Australia India

Men’s T20I Cricket World Cup Winners List – From 2007 to 2022

The first edition of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup started in 2007. The latest T20 Cricket World Cup was conducted in 2022. The table below illustrates T20 Cricket World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2022, which was the latest.

Year Winner Runner-up Hosting Country
2022 England Pakistan Australia
2021 Australia New Zealand UAE & Oman
2016 West Indies England India
2014 Sri Lanka India Bangladesh
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
2010 England Australia West Indies
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka England
2007 India Pakistan South Africa

Also Read:- 


Women’s Cricket World Cup Winners List

Check out the details about the Women’s Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1973 to 2022. Learn about the top female run scorers, the host country, and more.

Year Winners Runner-up
2022 Australia England
2017 England India
2013 Australia West Indies
2009 England New Zealand
2005 Australia India
2000 New Zealand Australia
1997 Australia New Zealand
1993 England New Zealand
1988 Australia England
1982 Australia England
1978 Australia England
1973 England Australia

World Cup Winners List (Country Wise)

As far as country-wise winners are concerned, Australia has won the ICC ODI World Cup trophy five times, which makes them the most successful winning team. West Indies and India follow them in the World Cup winners’ cricket ODI.

  • Both these teams have won the trophy twice each.
  • England is the winner of the last World Cup tournament held in 2019 and is the trophy’s current champion.
  • They are the first hosting country to have won the trophy.

Here is the list of country-wise ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List:

Team Appearances in Final Winners Years Won
Australia 7 5 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
West Indies 3 2 1975, 1979
India 3 2 1983, 2011
Pakistan 2 1 1992
Sri Lanka 3 1 1996
England 4 1 2019
  • The next ICC Cricket World Cup will be held in 2023 in India.
  • It remains to be seen whether India can win the cup for the third time and become the second host country after England to achieve this honour.
  • But as of now, the six countries mentioned in the above list of cricket world cup winners since 1975 have etched their names in cricketing history.

Women’s Cricket T20 World Cup Winners List

The oldest world sports championship is the Women’s Cricket World Cup. It got first held in 1973 in England, two years before the men’s world cup began. The Women’s Cricket World gets qualified through the ICC Women’s Championship and the World Cup Qualifier.

Women’s T20 World Cup Winners
Year Winner Runner Up Host
2009 England New Zealand England
2010 Australia New Zealand West Indies
2012 Australia England Sri Lanka
2014 Australia England Bangladesh
2016 West Indies Australia India
2018 Australia England West Indies
2020 Australia India Australia
2022 Australia England South Africa

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners – Captains List

The captain of any cricket team plays an essential role in winning an ICC trophy. Below is the world cup winners list mentioning the captains of the respective years from 1975 to 2019.

Year World Cup Winner List – Captains Winner
1975 Clive Lloyd West Indies
1979 Clive Lloyd West Indies
1983 Kapil Dev India
1987 Allan Border Australia
1992 Imran Khan Pakistan
1996 Arjuna Ranatunga Sri Lanka
1999 Steve Waugh Australia
2003 Ricky Ponting Australia
2007 Ricky Ponting Australia
2011 MS Dhoni India
2015 Michael Clarke Australia
2019 Eoin Morgan England

ICC World Cup Winners List – Facts and Figures

  • Twelve teams participated in ICC Men’s tournaments, including India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, Ireland, Afghanistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, West Indies, and Sri Lanka.
  • Australia won the highest number of World Cup Titles for both Men and Women’s tournaments.
  • India and Australia succeeded in the World cup in 50 and 60 overs.
  • India is the only country that won the Men’s World Cup for 20 overs, 50 overs, and 60 overs.

FAQs about Cricket World Cup Winners List

How many teams have participated in the ODI Cricket World Cups?

Twenty teams have participated in the ODI Cricket World Cups held so far. The ICC Cricket World Cup is the 13th edition of the men’s Cricket World Cup in 2023, which will be hosted in India in October and November.

How many countries have made it to the Cricket World Cup Winners List since 1975?

Six countries have been included in the world cup winners list since 1975. These are West Indies, India, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England.

Which country heads the ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List?

Australia heads the ICC World Cup Cricket winners list after winning five times. Not only this, the country became the runner-up 2 times. Behind Australia, India, and West Indies won the Worl Cup title 2 times.

How many times did India win the World Cup?

Indian cricket team won two times in World Cup Events; one was in 1983 under Kapil dev captaincy and another in 2011 under M.S.Dhoni captaincy. India won over Sri Lanka in the 2011 Cricket World Cup. They were runners-up at the Cricket World Cup in 2003 and semifinalists in 1987, 1996, 2015, and 2019.

Who won the 2022 T20 World Cup?

England is the current T20 World Cup holder, having defeated Pakistan in the 2022 final, winning their Second title.

How many types of World Cups are there in world cricket?

There is a total of three formats of Cricket. These include Test Cricket, One Day International Cricket (ODI), and Twenty20 International Cricket. All three types are played at the international level.

Leave a Comment

YOUNGEST PLAYERS TO SCORE A DOUBLE CENTURY IN TEST WORST RELEASES IN IPL HISTORY World’s Most Popular Ball Game Why Shubman Gill is Called Prince – Shubman Gill Life Journey Why is Hardik Pandya Not Playing Today’s MatcIPL h Between GT and KKR Who Won the First Super Bowl