ICC World Test Championship Final 2023

ICC World Test Championship Final 2023

The official dates for this year’s ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 final at The Oval have been announced.

The second ICC World Test Championship final will be held at The Oval in London from June 7 to June 11, with a reserve day in place. In the 2021 Southampton final, New Zealand defeated India by eight wickets to win the inaugural tournament.

Australia drives the nine-group focuses table for the continuous cycle with a solid focuses level of 75.56, trailed by India at 58.93. The four-match Test series between the two teams will begin on February 9 in Nagpur, and the outcome will significantly impact who will win the championship.

Read Also:- 

“The prospect of playing in the World Test Championship Final has been a big motivator for us over the last couple of years, more so now having missed out on over rates last time,” said Australia captain Pat Cummins.

“To play at a neutral venue like The Oval adds another element for both sides who make the Final. It’s exciting and has been a goal of ours for a while now. We are confident we can secure a place while here in India after a really strong 12 months. The Final would be a great reward for the players and staff who have done so well.”

India captain Rohit Sharma, who was a necessary piece of the Indian group in their other participants finish in the debut cycle under Virat Kohli, said: “It would be special to lead Team India on the field of play at the World Test Championship Final.” We have developed and created collectively during this opposition and to be in with a possibility lifting the Mace at the Oval in June, we realize we first need to defeat an extreme Australia side.

“There have been so many dramatic moments in Test cricket lately, and there are undoubtedly more to come. I am excited by the prospect of booking our place at the Final and hopefully creating history later in the year.”

South Africa (48.72 percent) and Sri Lanka (53.33 percent), which take the third and fourth positions, are also in with a chance. South Africa’s final assignment is a two-match home series against the West Indies, while Sri Lanka has two remaining away Tests against New Zealand.

“Sri Lanka still has a good chance of making it to the World Test Championship Final. We have done well to be among the top contenders, and if we can complete a good Test series on the upcoming New Zealand tour, our chances of making it to the Final will look like a greater possibility,” said Sri Lanka captain Dimuth Karunaratne.

“We are aware of the opportunity, as well as the challenges we will face in capturing this wonderful opportunity to play in the WTC Final. This competition is really good for red-ball cricket, as it ensures that every game is played at the highest level of intensity, and the teams, whether they qualify to play the Final or not, will compete to end the ongoing cycle well.”

Dean Elgar, captain of South Africa, said: While we might have a remote possibility of capability for the World Test Title Last, there could be no more prominent consolation than the prospect of playing for flatware in such a memorable organization at such a notable ground.

“We are hungry for success in this format and are focused on the challenge ahead with the West Indies Test series around the corner. With so much to play for, we would love to add some more drama to an already existing competition and qualify for the Final in June.”

Fans can now register their interest to be included in a priority ballot for tickets from Thursday 16th February by going here.

Remaining ICC World Test Championship Fixtures

India v Australia series

India v Australia (1st Test) – Nagpur, India, 9-13 February

India v Australia (2nd Test) – Delhi, India, 17-21 February

India v Australia (3rd Test) – Dharamsala, India, 1-5 March

India v Australia (4th Test) – Ahmedabad, India, 9-13 March

South Africa v West Indies series

South Africa v West Indies (1st Test) – Centurion, South Africa, 28 February-4 March

South Africa v West Indies (2nd Test) – Johannesburg, South Africa, 8-12 March

New Zealand v Sri Lanka series

New Zealand v Sri Lanka (1st Test) – Christchurch, New Zealand, 9-13 March

New Zealand v Sri Lanka (2nd Test) – Wellington, New Zealand, 17-21 March

FAQs Related To ICC World Test Championship Final 2023

How many teams qualify for WTC final 2023?

two teams
WTC Final Qualified Teams 2023: The top two teams of the WTC Points Table will qualify for the final game. India and Australia are the two teams that qualified for the WTC 2021-23 final match.

Who will play WTC final 2023?

The ICC Men's World Test Championship (WTC) Final between India and Australia will commence from 7 June 2023. The WTC Final matches will be played till 11 June at the Oval Cricket Stadium in London.

How the finalists are selected in ICC Test Championship?

After the league stage the top four teams will take part in the play-offs, with the final determining the Test cricket champions. There was a debate as to whether the play-off would take place between the top 8 teams or the top four teams, but the latter was unanimously chosen by the board.

Leave a Comment

YOUNGEST PLAYERS TO SCORE A DOUBLE CENTURY IN TEST WORST RELEASES IN IPL HISTORY World’s Most Popular Ball Game Why Shubman Gill is Called Prince – Shubman Gill Life Journey Why is Hardik Pandya Not Playing Today’s MatcIPL h Between GT and KKR Who Won the First Super Bowl