IPL Full Form – IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2022

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India. It was established in 2008 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and has become one of the most popular cricket leagues in the world. The league consists of eight teams representing different cities in India, and each team is composed of both Indian and international players.

The IPL has a rich history of exciting matches and intense rivalries, and it has attracted a large following of cricket fans both in India and around the globe. The league has also become a major source of revenue for the BCCI and for the teams that participate in it. In addition, the IPL has provided a platform for many young cricketers to showcase their talent and make a name for themselves in the sport.

Read More: IPL Schedule 2023 Match Dates & Fixtures, Team list, First Match

Overall, the IPL has had a significant impact on the world of cricket and has helped to popularize the sport in India and beyond. It continues to be a major source of entertainment and excitement for cricket fans around the world.

IPL Full Form

Nowadays, the Indian Premier League (IPL) is a well-known and popular cricket tournament across the world. However, some individuals may still be unfamiliar with it and would like to learn more. The IPL was launched in 2008 with a grand opening ceremony. It is a cricket tournament where each team plays 20 overs per match, which is known as the twenty20 format. The first season of IPL began on 18 April 2008, and the Rajasthan Royals emerged as the champions. At that time, Rajasthan Royals was considered a formidable team in the world of cricket, especially in the IPL.

IPL Full Meaning

IPL stands for Indian Premier League, which is not limited to selecting only Indian cricket players. IPL teams select cricket players from all over the world, and companies spend millions of rupees on them. During the team-making process, each famous cricketer is auctioned for a huge amount. The teams that represent different cities of India include Indian players as well as overseas players. Some examples of such teams are Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians, and Kolkata Knight Riders. Each team is given 14 matches to play before entering the semi-finals.

IPL Team Formation

The process of forming a team in IPL is a challenging task, and each team consists of 16 players, including four overseas players in the playing XI squad. Every team plays at a high level, and companies buy players based on their needs and budget. The teams play against each other daily, and typically, two matches are played on the same day. So, it’s a fast-paced and exciting tournament for cricket fans.


IPL Full Form in Hindi

आईपीएल का हिंदी में पूरा नाम इंडियन प्रीमियर लीग है। आईपीएल मैच में अधिकतर लोग गेम खेलते हैं और सट्टा भी लगाते हैं। लेकिन यह गैरकानूनी है। नए क्रिकेटरों या खिलाड़ियों के लिए यह एक अच्छा अवसर और मौका है। नए खिलाड़ियों को बड़ी रकमों में खरीदा जाता है।

IPL Full Form in Cricket

Cricket has become one of the most popular games in the world today. With the advent of the Indian Premier League, there are now ample opportunities for all kinds of cricketers, including those who play in the Ranji Trophy, to showcase their talent and play this wonderful game at a higher level.

IPL Match Winners List Till 2022

Below is the list of IPL winners and runners-up from the beginning till 2022, which is the most popular and sought-after list of IPL matches:

Season Winner Runner-UP
2021 Chennai Super King Kolkata Knight Riders
2020 Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals
2019 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super King
2018 Chennai Super King Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiant
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians
2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings

Read More: IPL Ticket booking 2023, Check Ticket Price List Seat wise

The Indian Premier League, also known as IPL, has gained immense popularity among the younger generation in India. It provides an excellent opportunity for new and upcoming cricketers to showcase their talent and make a name for themselves in the sport. In this article, we have provided comprehensive information about IPL, including its full form and history.

IPL Full Form FAQs

What is the full form of IPL?

The full form of IPL is Indian Premier League.

When did IPL start?

The first season of IPL started on 18 April 2008.

How many teams participate in IPL?

Currently, there are 8 teams that participate in IPL.

How many players are there in each team?

Each team in IPL has 16 players.

How many matches does each team play in IPL?

Each team plays 14 matches in IPL.

How many overseas players can be in a playing XI squad?

Each team can have a maximum of 4 overseas players in their playing XI squad.

Which team has won the most IPL titles?

Mumbai Indians have won the most IPL titles, which is 5 times.

What is the format of IPL matches?

Each match in IPL is played with 20 overs.

What is the significance of IPL for new cricketers?

IPL provides a platform for new cricketers to showcase their talent and get selected for the national team.

Is betting on IPL matches legal in India?

No, betting on any kind of sports events, including IPL matches, is illegal in India.

Leave a Comment

YOUNGEST PLAYERS TO SCORE A DOUBLE CENTURY IN TEST WORST RELEASES IN IPL HISTORY World’s Most Popular Ball Game Why Shubman Gill is Called Prince – Shubman Gill Life Journey Why is Hardik Pandya Not Playing Today’s MatcIPL h Between GT and KKR Who Won the First Super Bowl