Who Won The Last World Cup?

Men’s national football teams compete in an international football tournament known as the FIFA World Cup or World Cup. Since its inception in 1930, the World Cup has taken place every four years, with the exception of 1942 and 1946 due to World War II. Every four years, host nations host the international tournament, which has taken place in these nations: Brazil, Italy, France, Uruguay, Switzerland, Mexico, Germany, which has hosted the tournament twice, Chile, England, Sweden, Japan, and South Korea, Spain, the United States, Argentina, South Africa, Russia, and Qatar are hosting the tournament for the 2022 World Cup, which is currently taking place.

Also Read:- 

In order to determine who is eligible to participate in the World Cup, a qualification stage is held three years prior to the actual event. The following stage is chosen by a gathering development, where 32 groups are placed into eight gatherings, trailed by a series of sixteen, the quarter-last, the semi-last, and afterward a last. The nation hosting the World Cup is guaranteed a spot in the competition.

The competition’s conclusive, the World Cup last, is one of the most famous matches completed all through the entire rivalry. FIFA reports that 1.1 billion people watched the 2018 tournament final live, with an average live audience of 517 million.

History of the Championship

The Intercontinental Cup, which was held from 1960 to 2004, has been replaced by the FIFA Club World Cup. Only teams from the CONMEBOL and UEFA confederations competed in the Intercontinental Cup, which aimed to select the world’s best club team.

AC Milan was the best performing team in the Intercontinental Cup competition, winning it three times and finishing in second place four times, and Pele was the all-time leading scorer.

The FIFA Club World Cup was established in 2000, and the inaugural final featured an all-Brazilian match between Corinthians and Vasco da Gama. At the Estadio de Maracana, penalties gave Corinthians a 4-3 victory.

After the year 2000, the competition was put on hold and relaunched in 2005 with the new format, which involves seven teams competing in a two-week straight knockout tournament.

FIFA World Cup 2022

The current year’s version was held in Morocco from 1-11 February. The participating teams were:

  • Spain’s Real Madrid
  • Brazil’s Flamengo
  • Morocco’s Wydad Casablanca
  • Egypt’s Al Ahly
  • USA’s Seattle Sounders
  • Saudi Arabia’s Al-Hilal
  • New Zealand’s Auckland City

Wydad Casablanca qualified as the host nation’s national champion automatically. But they also won the African CAF Champions League, which gave Egypt’s Al Ahly, who finished as runners-up in the CAF Champions League, a new sport to play.

Year Winner Runner-up
2000 Corinthians (Brazil) Vasco da Gama (Brazil)
2005 Sao Paulo (Brazil) Liverpool (England)
2006 Internacional (Brazil) Barcelona (Spain)
2007 AC Milan (Italy) Boca Juniors (Argentina)
2008 Manchester United (England) LDU Quito (Ecuador)
2009 Barcelona (Spain) Estudiantes (Argentina)
2010 Inter Milan (Italy) TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
2011 Barcelona (Spain) Santos (Brazil)
2012 Corinthians (Brazil) Chelsea (England)
2013 Bayern Munich (Germany) Raja Casablanca (Morocco)
2014 Real Madrid (Spain) San Lorenzo (Argentina)
2015 Barcelona (Spain) River Plate (Argentina)
2016 Real Madrid (Spain) Kashima Antlers (Japan)
2017 Real Madrid (Spain) Gremio (Brazil)
2018 Real Madrid (Spain) Al-Ain (UAE)
2019 Liverpool (England) Flamengo (Brazil)
2020 Bayern Munich (Germany) Tigres UANL (Mexico)
2021 Chelsea (England) Palmeiras (Brazil)
2022 Real Madrid (Spain) Al-Hilal (Saudi Arabia)

History of World Cup Winners

Brazil has won the most World Cups, winning them in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002. They currently hold five of them. Both Germany and Italy have won four titles. France, the ongoing bosses, Uruguay and Argentina, all have two titles each. Spain and England have each won one title.

List of the 8 winners of the World Cup:

  • Brazil has come out on top for the most championships, bringing back home the prize multiple times: 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002.
  • Italy has brought home four championships: 1934, 1938, 1982, and 2006.
  • In addition, Germany has won four titles: 1954, 1974, 1990, and 2014.
  • France has prevailed twice: 1998 and 2018.
  • Two times Uruguay has won the world championship: 1930 and 1950.
  • Argentina has likewise won multiple times: 1978, 1986, and 2022.
  • The only time England has won is in 1966.
  • In addition, Spain has won only one world title since 2010.


Which country won FIFA World Cup in 2023?

Real Madrid claimed their fifth FIFA Club World Cup title in Morocco, putting them two clear of rivals Barcelona.

Which World Cup is in 2023?

ICC World Cup 2023: ICC seeks PCB assurance for ODI WC participation in India.

In which year India won last World Cup?

The 2011 Cricket World Cup Final was the final match of the 2011 Men's Cricket World Cup, the 10th edition of ICC's championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket. The match was played between India and Sri Lanka at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, India on Saturday 2 April 2011.

Leave a Comment

YOUNGEST PLAYERS TO SCORE A DOUBLE CENTURY IN TEST WORST RELEASES IN IPL HISTORY World’s Most Popular Ball Game Why Shubman Gill is Called Prince – Shubman Gill Life Journey Why is Hardik Pandya Not Playing Today’s MatcIPL h Between GT and KKR Who Won the First Super Bowl